The Fourth Night

Tang Shu-wing Theatre Studio

The Fourth Night

“The Fourth Night” is a role-playing adventure game (AVG) derived from a fictional COVID-19 patient. The plot consists of multiple storylines and the endings will be determined by the choices of the players. The game will be developed with Unity 3D engine and released in HTML5 web version for six months.

Tang Shu-wing Theatre Studio

Founded in 2011 with a former name as No Man’s Land that was registered in 1997, Tang Shu-wing Theatre Studio is a centre for theatrical research and creation. Apart from creating 16 core works, the Studio initiated the “Physical Theatre Youth Training Programme” in 2014, which has since become a brand name in theatre training. Launched in 2019, the “Jockey Club Drama for Correctional Service Pilot Programme” was the first community theatre programme in Hong Kong facilitating rehabilitation of persons in custody through systematic and professional method. As a recognition of its contribution and leading role in contemporary arts and culture, the Studio was named an “Eminent Arts Group” by the Hong Kong Arts Development Council.

A Theatrical Experiment: COVID-19 Role-Playing Adventure Game

Unlike stage performances, the endings of online games come with unlimited possibilities. This project would like to take advantage of the flexibility of online games to conduct experiments on “storytelling through the lens” and “multiple theatrical endings”. The work integrates digital immersive experience, role-playing games and storytelling through the lens to construct a digital artistic platform, enabling audience to access drama anywhere via technology.

In the game, players play a 28-year-old actress who tested positive for COVID-19. They are going to experience the dilemma from her point of view and make choices over the four days following the diagnosis. These decisions will influence the story development.

Please Click: to explore the initiatives!

第四夜

鄧樹榮戲劇工作室

第四夜

「第四夜」將會以一個新冠肺炎確診者的虛構故事作為背景,結合劇場和數碼遊戲,製作一個多重故事走向、多重結局的角色扮演冒險遊戲 (role-playing adventure game, AVG)。遊戲將會以Unity 3D引擎製作成HTML5網頁版本發佈,為期半年。

鄧樹榮戲劇工作室

鄧樹榮戲劇工作室於2011年創立,前身是1997年註冊的《無人地帶》,定位是一戲劇硏創及教育中心,至今共創作了十六齣作品。工作室於2014年創辦的「專業形體戲劇青年訓練課程」,已成為劇場訓練的品牌。而在2019年推出的「賽馬會戲劇更生先導計劃」,則是香港首個透過全專業及系統化的戲劇形式,幫助在囚人士作深度更生的社區劇場計劃。同年,工作室獲藝發局選為「優秀藝團」之一。

揉合表演藝術與網絡遊戲的重大實驗

有別於舞台演出,網上遊戲的結局有無限可能。本項目希望利用網上遊戲的彈性,進行「鏡頭說故事」與「多重戲劇結局」之間的實驗。此遊戲作品結合虛擬體驗、角色扮演遊戲及以鏡頭說故事的形式,建構一個藝術數碼平台,讓觀眾在任何地方藉著科技接觸戲劇。

玩家在遊戲中化身為確診新冠肺炎的 28 歲女演員,從她的視點出發經歷確診後的四天。期間玩家需要作出不同的抉擇,而他們的選擇將會影響故事發展。

【敬請期待】